Fceux Qt/SDL Port Testing

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems. See the NESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

Mjbudd77

Fceux Qt/SDL Port Testing

Post by Mjbudd77 »

Hello,
I am a C++ developer that has been working on porting the fceux emulator to run under a cross platform Qt based GUI. This new port of fceux utilizes Qt and SDL2 and runs natively in Linux and Mac OSX. Included in the new Qt port, are most of the debug tools that previously only existed in the windows port of fceux. I am nearing the finish line regarding new development and could use some feedback from Linux or Mac users (especially those that have experience using the Rom hacking tools). Having some beta testers would go a long way in helping me decide if the code is ready for a new release. For those interested, the latest stable code can be found on github.com/tasvideos/fceux and build instructions are in the projects README file. For mac users, there are instructions on the fceux web site on how to use the dmg package artifact that is created by the appveyor autobuild system (If you don't want to have to build from source)
lidnariq

Re: Fceux Qt/SDL Port Testing

Post by lidnariq »

I was confused by having the qmake fceux.pro file <_< It's missing dependencies, by the way :mrgreen:

Looks good! The only real problem I've noticed so far has to do with font spacing: in the debugger, the stack display will overflow to wider than the window it's allocated, without a scrollbar. I'm seeing some variant of Courier, and I (obviously) don't have FixedSys available.

... also, a random weird bug in the file selector: it only knows about directories that I've previously explicitly told it about? Probably not your bug.
there-are-other-directories-here.png
there-are-other-directories-here.png (6.88 KiB) Viewed 14317 times
Mjbudd77

Post by Mjbudd77 »