How to change an assigned palette for another one?

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems. See the NESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

andypalido

How to change an assigned palette for another one?

Post by andypalido »

Hello, my name is andy, im new in this foro.

I've been working in a hack rom and I'm having trouble with the color palettes

I have read that sprites have a structure that can be seen using the OAM Viewer of the FCEUX or Mesen emulators. I read that this structure consists of y pos, tile index, attributes and x pos.

I understand that the assigned palette is found in these attributes but I'm not sure how to change it. In the OAM viewer I found the values but i cannot modify it to test because it is constantly refreshed. I want to find it in the rom file using hex editor but i don’t know how to find it there. I try putting “?” Replacing X pos and Y pos values who are variables.

Specifically, the problem I am having is trying to hack the Kunio kun no nekketsu soccer league game, in which I want to make the white of the eyes not be the same as the white of the uniform.

Thank you very much for the help and sorry for my bad English (my native language is Spanish)
tokumaru

Re: How to change an assigned palette for another one?

Post by tokumaru »

andypalido wrote: Fri Apr 16, 2021 7:16 pmIn the OAM viewer I found the values but i cannot modify it to test because it is constantly refreshed.