A question about CPU address exposed to the cartridge

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems. See the NESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

Optimizer61

A question about CPU address exposed to the cartridge

Post by Optimizer61 »

Hello there. I'm a newbie and this could be an idiotic/basic question. My apologies in that case.

I see that we are exposed to CPU address pins A0 to A15 on the NES Cartridge connector. My question is, can we use that to write the NES registers (Like PPU, APU)? Or is there something preventing us from doing so?

Thank you!
Quietust

Re: A question about CPU address exposed to the cartridge

Post by Quietust »

Optimizer61 wrote: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:10 am Hello there. I'm a newbie and this could be an idiotic/basic question. My apologies in that case.

I see that we are exposed to CPU address pins A0 to A15 on the NES Cartridge connector. My question is, can we use that to write the NES registers (Like PPU, APU)? Or is there something preventing us from doing so?
No, you cannot - the NES CPU is always in control of the address bus and the control signals (M2 and R/W), so if a cartridge tried to output its own signals it would cause a bus conflict. Even if you were somehow able to "pause" the CPU (which you can't do because the 6502's "RDY" signal isn't exposed anywhere), you wouldn't be able to access any of the APU registers because those are located inside the RP2A03/RP2A07 chip, and the address pins are not bidirectional.
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.
Optimizer61

Post by Optimizer61 »

Thanks for the reply. There is something not clear to me in your answer.
you wouldn't be able to access any of the APU registers because those are located inside the RP2A03/RP2A07 chip, and the address pins are not bidirectional