Isometric trigonometry and the NES pixel aspect ratio

A place for your artistic side. Discuss techniques and tools for pixel art on the NES, GBC, or similar platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

tepples

Isometric trigonometry and the NES pixel aspect ratio

Post by tepples »

A couple years ago, Bananmos expressed disappointment that my Russian Roulette tech demo was text-based. Around the same time, I started learning to use Blender. So lately I've been doing some 3D modeling for a graphical refresh, when I noticed this:

The video chips in several classic consoles from the ColecoVision through the Super NES all output pixels at 315/88*3/2 = 5.37 MHz. At this dot rate, the BT.601 clean aperture* is 280x240 dots, making each dot an 8:7 rectangle (source).

The right triangle with legs 1 and 2 units has a hypotenuse √5 = 2.236 units, and the smallest angle θ is arctan(1/2) = 26.565°.

Code: Select all

_,o
          _,-'  |
      _,-'      |
  _,-' θ)       |
o-------o-------o
Now take an orthographic projection of 3D space into 2D and rotate it so that the camera points 26.565 degrees down. Adding the plane of the camera to the diagram produces this view, seen from the left side:

\
              \
               \
              _,o
          _,-'  |\
      _,-'      | \
  _,-' θ)       |  \
o-------o-------o
At this angle, a vector two units back and a second vector one unit up would project to the same length. This length is slightly smaller than the length of a vector along the plane, just as the long leg of the triangle is slightly smaller than the hypotenuse.