Another Raycasting Demo

A place where you can keep others updated about your NES-related projects through screenshots, videos or information in general.

Moderator: Moderators

Celius

Another Raycasting Demo

Post by Celius »

Hello everyone!

So about a year and a half ago, I started brewing up this little demo. I started thinking about it when there was discussion in another thread about ray casters on the NES. I just figured, why not release it and show what progress I made, even if I make no more.

I remember being impressed following the threads regarding tokumaru's raycasting project. He was able to accomplish quite a lot; he had textures and did some palette tricks to allow for colored walls, all at a great frame rate. It seemed to me that the biggest draw back was the low horizontal resolution, but palette tricks would be difficult without the 8-pixel wide columns.

So I thought, what if there was a raycaster on the NES that only used one palette for the walls in a room, and didn't have a limited horizontal resolution? Would sacrificing colors for resolution pay off? And with an increased horizontal resolution, it would probably run a little slower. Plus, how would it even work in terms of pattern table/name table updates? So this got me thinking and pretty soon I'm sitting there, building a raycasting engine.