Identifying Which Boards to Use for MMC1/MMC3 Romhacks

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
slickrasta

Identifying Which Boards to Use for MMC1/MMC3 Romhacks

Post by slickrasta »

Hello,

I'm new to reproductions and intend to use RetroBlasters NES Blaster boards for my NES repros. Problem is I have to know which exact board types I need to use for my romhacks. The games I'm trying to make repros of are the following:
Final Fantasy II Restored
Final Fantasy III Redux
Mother 25th Anniversary Edition
Super Mario Bros II Japan MMC3 Conversion
Super Mario Bros III Mix

Resources I've Been Using:
NES Mapper Reader: https://www.romhacking.net/utilities/683/
http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/TxROM
http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/SxROM
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/home.php

I'm mystified with trying to identify what exact TxROM and SxROM boards I need to order for these 5 games since they are all romhacks. The NES Mapper Reader program will show if they are MMC1 or MMC3 but doesn't actually specify an exact board. Further the PRG, CHR size and if they need a battery are listed but no other relevant info seems to load when looking at the roms in the program to cross reference with the nesdev wiki list.