It is currently Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:49 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 776 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2317
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
I didn't use the recent build since I use the current version daily on linux but is the latest build version usable in that environment? When should we expect 0.98? ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:16 pm
Posts: 725
The latest dev builds should be pretty stable - I've been fixing bugs as they are reported for the past month or 2 (and haven't been doing much else). It should be pretty safe to use it - though save states compatibility was broken at some point, so 0.9.7 states can't be loaded anymore (and I may have to do this one more time before releasing 0.9.8).

I meant to release 0.9.8 over a month ago, but been haven't had the time to tie up the last few loose ends and make a proper release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:21 pm
Posts: 1037
Location: cypress, texas
Sour wrote:
The information about function start points is stored in the CDL file that it saves in the Debugger subfolder.
You can reset it in Tools->Code/Data Logger or by deleting the CDL file (note that this will make the disassembly lose track of which parts of the ROM is code vs data (until those parts of the rom are run again), but that's probably a good thing if you've changed the code a lot.
Sour, thank you so much! :D

Note for others: the Code/Data Logger is only in the Debugger's Tools menu. Resetting its log removed all of the old "sub start"s! Yeay! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2317
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
I have a question regarding the latest build. It is possible that compared to the official one that full speed (F9) is slower? It feels that way on linux, not sure why. It seems to skip less frame at full speed. odd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:16 pm
Posts: 725
"Official" releases are optimized by PGO and are typically 15-30% faster than the appveyor dev builds, so yes, that's probably normal in this case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 9:19 am
Posts: 51
Hi Sour,

Thank you for your hard work on Mesen ! I running Chinese Win10 64bits OS. Mesen default Chinese language. Can I change it to English language ? I can't find it on Mesen's setting. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2317
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
@Sour

I see. Then I will only use the debug version when I have bug I cannot work around then. Thanks for confirming!

@Tomy

I will answer for Sour since I had to do a few time. The answer is yes, you just go in the 3rd menu (option in English), then from this menu you select the last one, which is "preference". In the first tab (general), the first option wichi is a dropdown should be called display language and the default option is to "User account default", which means uses the OS language.

If you change to English from that dropdown, it will be always in English from that point. It should be the first choice in the list, unless the order change when displayed in Chinese. Hope it helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 9:19 am
Posts: 51
@Banshaku

Oh, yes, foolish me. I found that option now. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 3:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 7:57 am
Posts: 21
When running the fill mode test of this MMC5 test rom Mesen shows white and red numbers.

Fill mode should show a single color for all tiles right? It looks like Mesen writes the fill mode color as 8 bit value (03) in the attribute table instead of filling the byte with the value 4 times (FF).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:16 pm
Posts: 725
And you're absolutely correct! Wonder how I managed to miss that considering I've run that test a bunch of times before.
It's fixed as of the latest commit - thanks for the report!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 1206
Location: Hokkaido, Japan
Seems like the Famicom keyboard keys "[" and "]" are swapped in the input dialogue. They are labelled correctly but mapped wrong (just try typing "[ ]" in Family BASIC V3 for example). Other keys appears to be alright.

Also the keyboard keys on the host side are lacking things like separate left and right Ctrl and Shift, and the AltGr key works like a Ctrl+Alt combination for example (Return and Enter are separate though). This is especially annoying when using the Famicom keyboard. I guess this is a problem with the input library though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:16 pm
Posts: 725
Thanks, the inverted brackets should be fixed.

As far as I can tell left/right keys being treated as the same key was done on purpose when I implemented customizable shortcuts.
e.g if you bind "open file" to "Ctrl+O", you most likely expect it to work regardless of which ctrl key you press (this is more or less the case in pretty much all Windows applications)
There are a number of scenarios (e.g this) where it might make sense to distinguish between both of them, but I can't really see a simple way of implementing both of these requirements in a way that's obvious and user friendly (at best it could probably be a global option? but I'm not sure if this is useful enough to warrant an option)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 1206
Location: Hokkaido, Japan
Yeah well I think most people would like the emulated inputs to treat each key as unique while interface inputs like the shortcuts should not, so my first thought would be to handle them separately.
In those cases you want multiple keys to act the same for emulated inputs, like if you want both Ctrl keys to work as the Famibe keyboard's CTR or to be able to use numpad numbers the same as the number row, there are already 4 key-sets that can be used for alternate keys.

Alternatively one could add alternate key-sets for the shortcuts as well. If the input dialogue says "Left Ctrl" people will not be surprised that the right Ctrl does not work as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:16 pm
Posts: 725
Pokun wrote:
Yeah well I think most people would like the emulated inputs to treat each key as unique while interface inputs like the shortcuts should not, so my first thought would be to handle them separately.
I guess that's one way to separate them, but I'd have to check to see how easily it can be done, since all the input logic is shared between both types of keybindings (and there's also some Windows and Linux specific code involved here). I'll add to the list of things to check/fix.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesen - NES Emulator
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 3:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:21 pm
Posts: 1037
Location: cypress, texas
hi Sour,

In your Mesen Nametable Viewer, what does a persistant red latticework over an entire screen (actually, over two "screens" represented by nametables 0 and 2 bc of vertical mirroring) mean? The screens are being drawn correctly underneath that red latticework, but it never goes away until we stop drawing screens; obviously, this results in nothing being displayed on the emulated game screen until the red latticework goes away.

Could the reason be that screens have to stay an entire frame or so before being shown?

Thanks for reading :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 776 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dwedit and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group