nesdev.com
https://forums.nesdev.com/

Thwaite: stuff blowing up
https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=7511
Page 3 of 3

Author:  clueless [ Thu Dec 08, 2011 8:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

The MGC is a family event. I've not seen your zapruder demo. I've seen the Zapruder film though.

Author:  tepples [ Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:58 pm ]
Post subject: 

Zap Ruder is a bunch of Zapper tech demos, one of them being the Pong clone ZapPing. (As opposed to FlapPing.)

AWal wrote:
I do have to say, the fluidity of the 'controller' was definitely "Wii Smooth."

Author:  Kasumi [ Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

Tepples sometimes chooses controversial names for his games. The previous name of concentration room was concentration camp.

Author:  tepples [ Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

hubs of #nesdev wanted the NSF, so here's the NSF for Concentration Room, Thwaite, Zap Ruder, and a couple other projects.

Track listing:
01 cover of SMB3 underground
02 [Zap Ruder] Goal
03 cover of Mozart's "Leck mich im Arsch"
04 cover of AM FM GM's "Tetris New Melody"
05 [Concentration Room] Story
06 [Concentration Room] Table Clear
07 [Thwaite] 4 PM
08 [Thwaite] 2 AM, cover of Beethoven's "Sonata 8 Pathetique: 2. Adagio cantabile"
09 [Thwaite] 3 AM
10 [Thwaite] 4 AM
11 [Thwaite] 5 AM, variations on Beethoven's "Sonata 8 Pathetique: 3. Rondo: Allegro"
12 [Thwaite] Wave Clear
13 [Zap Ruder] Axe
14 cover of Marilyn Manson's "I Don't Like the Drugs" and Puff Daddy's "It's All About the Benjamins"
15 Test case for attack track and arpeggio

Attachments:
Thwaite&co.nsf.zip [2.83 KiB]
Downloaded 295 times

Author:  Dwedit [ Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

When did TOD get ported to the NES?

Author:  tepples [ Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

The cover of IDLTD was a test case for the music player's arpeggio feature. It was divorced from TOD proper in June. In any case, there's nowhere near enough CPU, and the PPU is too inflexible, to do software mode 7 style texture mapping on an NES.

Author:  tepples [ Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

Someone thinks this game is fan-TAS-tic.

Video: Thwaite - S5E31 - Full Playthrough Doubleplay on GameAnyone.com

Author:  tepples [ Fri Jul 03, 2015 6:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re:

Tomorrow is US Independence Day. Instead of blowing up real fireworks, be safe and blow up some virtual ones with Thwaite.

Author:  tepples [ Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

Five years after the initial release through the compo, I can give hints toward the origin of the name "Thwaite". Before I decided to make it an Animal Crossing parody, the theming was more in the vein of Ganja Farmer or Crop Command. Milo and Staisy were almost Mary and Dickon defending their "secret garden" from herbicide bombs.

Author:  tepples [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

Git a load of this: pinobatch/thwaite-nes

Author:  dougeff [ Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

Cool.

I've always wondered. What exactly does the word "Thwaite" mean. The closest I can figure is that it's the name of the village being blown up. Urban Dictionary has some ...um...other ideas as usual.

Author:  tepples [ Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

The name is not the name of the village but an artifact from a previous iteration of the game's setting, as I hinted in my post from June.

Idthesda is even worse about this. The origin of the title of Quake is similarly obscure. And the title of Arena, the first Elder Scrolls game, is a reference to a gladiator tournament sidequest that never ended up developed at all for that game.

There's more street fighting in Final Fight than in any Street Fighter game or especially Street Fighter 2010. There's no Zelda in Link's Awakening. Nor are there Metroids in Metroid Prime Hunters.

Author:  tepples [ Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Thwaite: stuff blowing up

Today I learned that Iron Dome Legacy for Android exists. Its developer describes it on GameDev.net and r/playmygame as a Missile Command clone. But its theming resembles Thwaite in that the targets to defend are shown as buildings roughly as large as a single-family house.

Page 3 of 3 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/