The Difficulty of ARM Assembly

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

Drew Sebastino
Formerly Espozo

The Difficulty of ARM Assembly

Post by Drew Sebastino »

I recently started programming on an STM32 microcontroller (ARM Cortex-M0 processor) for college and was naïve enough to try programming in assembly. There's little way to work with immediate numbers, and the limitations always seem to change heavily based on the instruction (sometimes it's an 8 bit value that can be shifted, sometimes it's a regular 16 bit number and sometimes it's even a 12 bit number). There's never any absolute addressing either due to the 32 bit instruction size, and the limitations of relative addressing appear just as random as that of immediate values. It's confusing enough for a human (or me at least) that I wouldn't be surprised if a compiler generated substantially faster code.
lidnariq

Re: The Difficulty of ARM Assembly

Post by lidnariq »

ARM assemblers usually deliberately allocate a region in the CODE segment near any given routine called a "constant pool" for exactly this reason.
Oziphantom

Post by Oziphantom »

Yeah ARM and RISC in general is designed for compilers. The idea being having a smaller instruction set means you can't do any complex paths, which reduces the search space for a compiler, thus the compiler makes about as good code. That being said when I was doing M0 the code gcc was making was horrendous.

Basically the instruction are fixed bit length, so you get number of bits to encode the instruction + param = what ever is left. As the ARM instruction set has been moving more and more CISC they have started to need to create with instruction packing.

Typically when you hand asm some RISC you use an "higher level asm" although I don't know once for ARM, but on MIPS you have MAL which is a helper for TAL.
Jarhmander
Formerly ~J-@D!~

Post by Jarhmander »