Music Playback Very Slow

Discuss NSF files, FamiTracker, MML tools, or anything else related to NES music.

Moderator: Moderators

Goose2k

Music Playback Very Slow

Post by Goose2k »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to NES development, and even more so NES Music.

I am making an NES game in C using neslib, with music playback via famitone2.

The musician I am working with has sent me a music track which, when played in famitracker or exported as an nsf, sounds totally fine. However, when I export it for playback in game, it plays very very slow (like 25% slower maybe).

I suspect it might have something to do with all the tempo fx being applied (1 every beat), because when I remove all of them the song plays back fine (although now the tempo is right, but it sounds the same as famitracker).

However, if I apply the same tempo fx so another same song I have, it works fine in that case, so there must be something additional to this file that I am not catching.

Any suggestions on how to debug this further?

Note: The tempo fx are on the otherwise unused DPCM channel, but I originally suspected that channel might be the problem and transfered all the fx to the Pulse 1 channel, but the issue happens there too.

I've attached both the famitracker file, and rom.

(Aso: Is this the right forum for this kind of question, or should it go in the nes dev forum? )
Attachments
main.nes
(40.02 KiB) Downloaded 217 times
WhatsKraken_Title_noDPCM.ftm
(50.21 KiB) Downloaded 208 times
Gilbert

Re: Music Playback Very Slow

Post by Gilbert »

Haven't checked the ROM, but maybe somehow your game is run in 50Hz PAL mode (like because of header settings) so the music are slower?

Edit:
Hmmm Nestopia reported that it's NTSC. Don't know about it then.
Last edited by Gilbert on Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lidnariq

Post by lidnariq »