It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:19 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 10.2.2.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21591
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
To try to learn FamiTracker, I made a 2A03 arrangement of an old tracked piece that I had made years ago back when I was still heavily into DDR.

10.2.2. (ogg | ftm | original version)

What if anything could I have improved on?


EDIT: original version link is fixed


Last edited by tepples on Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Don't ever use vibrato.


Last edited by Shiru on Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4211
There's a lot of games with really good soundtracks that don't use any vibrato.
But trying to come up with a list of them is hard, because when you go to verify the game, you can hear the vibrato :)

I believe that Rygar has no vibrato. Tons of other effects, but no vibrato.

Edit:
Went through the top 30 list.
I believe 6 of them don't use vibrato: Contra, Metroid, Faxanadu, Super Mario Bros 2, Castlevania 1, and Super Mario Bros 3.
But I'm guessing here from listening, not importing into Famitracker to confirm it.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Vibrato simply sucks.


Last edited by Shiru on Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:57 pm
Posts: 1266
If the sound is cold and flat, I'd be quicker to blame the composition, rather than the lack of a feature.

This is similar to my longstanding (mis?)conception that people seem to think chiptunes require warbly arpeggios. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Posts: 2157
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
There is no vibrato in the music of Final Fantasy 1. Love the music, but vibrato would have taken it to another level.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:57 pm
Posts: 1266
Hah, conversely, I think the vibrato in Zelda 2 took the music a level too far. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:35 pm
Posts: 34
Location: oregon
The effects sound adequate to me. I think the bassline could use a little more variation, but overall it's not bad at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3722
Location: Indianapolis
Sounds cool, nothing in particular stood out to me as needing improvement. Newer one sounds better than the old one, but I kinda liked the noise in the intro of the original version.

About the vibrato stuff, it's definitely something subjective and depending on style (would suck if everyone's music sounded the same, right?). I mostly just wanted to point out that the Dragon Warrior series had some of my favorite NES music, and I think only 2 songs in the whole series had used vibrato (both on the triangle channel).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4211
DW3 and 4 use lots of vibrato.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:35 pm
Posts: 34
Location: oregon
Sounds like tremolo to me.
edit: Ok, there's at least one song in DW4 with square vibrato.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:15 am
Posts: 24
Just dropping in to say this is some great stuff you got there! :) Shame about the abrupt ending though.

Oh and vibrato is great when used properly. When poorly used, it's horrendous.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:09 am
Posts: 248
Mega Man and Mega Man 2 used pitch vibrato extensively as well, and it was great.

The Capcom sound engine of that day did not support portamento (pitch slides between two notes), but they rewrote the engine in Mega Man 3 and it's been used since that. Portamento can add a lot to the style and make it sound more natural, but it is difficult to use it right.
(There are a few pitch slides in Mega Man 2, but they approximated it with heavy slow vibrato & cut notes.)

I think they added tremolo (volume vibrato) in Mega Man 4; used in e.g. Dust Man and Toad Man themes in the beginning.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group