Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Joe » Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:34 am

Fisher wrote:The weirdest thing is that the md5 of the original ROMs matchs the swapped.
That doesn't sound right. Are you sure you're looking at the right files?
Fisher wrote:Do you know another way to bitswap?
I can write a program to do it, but it will be command-line only.
Fisher wrote:Maybe dd?
You can use dd to rearrange the address bits, but not the data bits. You need to rearrange the data bits for the PRG ROM, so it won't work.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Sat Mar 19, 2016 9:33 am

I'll try to pinswap an md5 check again, as soon as I take my Window$ PC (or my VM) back to life.
Could you please make a nice program to do it? If possible, that runs fine on Linux.

Farid's program is nice, but it really runs fine only on a Window$ machine (or virtual machine).
Since I'm using Linux most of the time at home and at work, this would be very nice!! Even if it's command line only.
I could write down the most used parameters on a text file and make redoing things easier :-)
I thought in splitting CHR in many 8k or less files to try to rearrange it when I was trying to find the right pin sequence.

By the way, can you please tell me how can the pin sequence be found?
I tried comparing the files and building some binary tables with the differences, but it did not work.
Maybe I just messed up some way. :oops:

tepples
Posts: 22055
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by tepples » Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:45 pm

How do these programs fall in Wine?

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:52 pm

Farid's program at first seems to run fine on Wine, but won't let me select the target chip.
I tried to install some VB libraries with winetricks, but nothing changed. :x

Now I just don't understand what's happening!! :shock:
Re swapped and re checked md5 again. It's the same.
Just for curiosity, I swapped the PRG of Felix the Cat.
It booted, of course with scrambled graphics because the CHR soldered on the board is still the Double Dragon 2's!!
I did not tested it throughly... but seems fine.
I just don't understand what's happening!! :roll:

Maybe the mapper is "cursed" and only runs cartoon characters games!! :lol:

Edit: looks like I talked too soon... It crashed on a black screen just after the 1st stage's intro :-(

User avatar
FARID
Posts: 499
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by FARID » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:03 pm

Be careful with the EPROM Pin Swapper, as I told before in its topic it is buggy!
To swap the pins use some wires and breadboard then tie the programmer to the chip.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:36 am

Even kind of buggy, it helped me a lot in other ocasions, when I was modding other pirate games.
I really would like to give you a big thank you for this program. It's simple and very easy to use.
Looks like the program is not the root of the problem, the mapper may have some bugs, like the one I'm trying to fix in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=13698&start=15
This is really bad, and kind of unbelievable, but AFAIK, we can expect anything from pirates!

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Joe » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:42 am

Fisher wrote:Since I'm using Linux most of the time at home and at work, this would be very nice!! Even if it's command line only.
Here you go. Since you're using Linux, you can figure out how to compile it yourself, right?
Fisher wrote:By the way, can you please tell me how can the pin sequence be found?
I tried comparing the files and building some binary tables with the differences, but it did not work.
I compared blocks of bytes starting at addresses with only a single bit set. A match means the bit in the original ROM's address corresponds to that bit in the pirate ROM's address.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:49 pm

Cool!!
To compile was easy, but I did not understand the usage. :oops:
Could you please show me some examples?
Thank you :-)

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Joe » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:13 pm

To convert a 128KB PRG-ROM and 128KB CHR-ROM to work on the T1 board, use these commands:

Code: Select all

pinswap -a11,10,14,15,12,1,0,13,16,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2 -d7,6,5,4,3,0,1,2 -o swappedprg.bin originalprg.bin
pinswap -a16,10,11,12,7,14,15,13,9,8,6,5,4,3,2,1,0 -o swappedchr.bin originalchr.bin
To see a diagram of the pin swap, don't include the -o parameter. For example, this will display the PRG-ROM remapping: (prg.bin must be 128KB)

Code: Select all

pinswap -a11,10,14,15,12,1,0,13,16,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2 -d7,6,5,4,3,0,1,2 prg.bin
To convert the ROMs dumped from the T1 board into ROMs you can use in an emulator, use the -r parameter:

Code: Select all

pinswap -a11,10,14,15,12,1,0,13,16,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2 -d7,6,5,4,3,0,1,2 -o tom-unswapped.prg -r TOM.PRG
pinswap -a16,10,11,12,7,14,15,13,9,8,6,5,4,3,2,1,0 -o tom-unswapped.chr -r TOM.CHR

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:39 am

Great!
Now I finally could unterstand!!
I was trying do put the command line like this: <original_pin_function>,<altered_pin_function>, but it's a lot easier!!
Just tell pin functions from major to minor comma separated. A lot simplier than I have tought!!
If I understood a little your code, you are making a matrix to rearrange the data.

Many thanks Joe!!
Gotta swap the Holy diver Batman! and see what it says about T1.
I'm not sure, but I think this clone has some bugs.

zxbdragon
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by zxbdragon » Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:51 am

Thanks Joe for sharing pinswap.
Thanks Fisher for sharing T1 swap rom.

T1 is MMC3C Clone,not MMC3A.

Felix the Cat needs MMC3A.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:56 am

Cool!!
This seems to solve the mistery!!
AFAIK, the IRQ handling is different, this explains why the game starts fine then locks.
I'll make some tests, looks like Mighty Final Fight should work fine.
Thanks for the info zxbdragon!! :beer:

zxbdragon
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by zxbdragon » Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:07 am

Are there any other interesting games?

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by Fisher » Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:29 am

I tried Double Dragon 3, but it locked on Chin Semei.
He moved when he should be stopped talking, and become stopped when he should be fighting.
Very weird!!
Looks like only the scandinavian version used MMC3C.
Got to search for some more interesting games.
Can a game be patched for a different mapper revision?

zxbdragon
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Another MMC3 Clone: T1

Post by zxbdragon » Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:19 pm

Fisher wrote:I tried Double Dragon 3, but it locked on Chin Semei.
He moved when he should be stopped talking, and become stopped when he should be fighting.
Very weird!!
Looks like only the scandinavian version used MMC3C.
Got to search for some more interesting games.
Can a game be patched for a different mapper revision?
..............................................................................................

ax5208。。rom

Post Reply