Why my famiclone have space to two xtal?.

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

tic

Why my famiclone have space to two xtal?.

Post by tic »

Hi i have a nevir mastergames nvr-vi(in spain) also know as milmar top loader in brasil. I opened It to repare the lm chip and i take a look to motherboard.

I view the motherboard is diferent to other boards i view surfing the web.

-He have two diferent conectors to power/vídeo board. One in the upper part and other in left part.(there is another famiclone with that?).

-He have a led not fitted, and unkown ic not fitted.
-He have a site to other xtal, and some elements not fitted.And a select switch not fitted.

What other configuration can support this motherboard from Factory? Is any other know famiclone using this board?.
Attachments
Nevir nvr-vi motherboard
Nevir nvr-vi motherboard
lidnariq

Re: Why my famiclone have space to two xtal?.

Post by lidnariq »

Without a picture of the underside of the board, it's very hard to guess what the other things are doing here.

XTAL2 connects to a variable capacitor ... and we have no idea what either end of that is doing.

U7 has no obvious connections to anything at all.
tic

Post by tic »

No problem :)
Attachments
IMG_20170418_000016.jpg
IMG_20170417_235830.jpg
lidnariq

Post by lidnariq »

XTAL1 and XTAL2 are two different kinds of oscillator topologies, designed for a "parallel cut" vs "series cut" crystal.

U7 ... hard to say. Clearly involved with both the SELEC header and the VR1 potentiometer.