Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems.

Moderator: Moderators

phreak97
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 3:03 am

Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by phreak97 » Sat May 11, 2013 8:24 am

I got two nes consoles this week, one Asian Version and one Hong Kong version.
Both had cic pin 4 clipped which I have now soldered back.

The homg kong version is back to blinking as it should.

The asian version has these two extra wires:

Wide pic

Theyre tied into the reset lines on the cic, one connects a pin on the hex inverter to the reset output, the other connects from the 4mhz clock to the line from the power led. (From a brief look and from memory)

With the wires in place the console is region free, removed it blinks like usual.

Are these a factory mod? I have never heard of this method of lockout disabling.

Also the reason theyre where they are is so the mod could be performed by just removing the top shielding and leaving the motherboard and cartridge holder in place. Kinda cool.

lidnariq
Posts: 8768
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by lidnariq » Sat May 11, 2013 2:50 pm

phreak97 wrote:Are these a factory mod? I have never heard of this method of lockout disabling.
Definitely not stock.

The jumpers override the 4 MHz ceramic resonator, using it as an inverter to generate /RESET_BUTTON and then to tie that to /2A03_RESET_IN

SkinnyV
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by SkinnyV » Sat May 11, 2013 8:16 pm

I have never heard of such a way of tricking the lockout chip. Pretty interesting! It seem like a cleaner way to mod NES console. Well at least I find it cleaner than cutting the leg of an IC.

User avatar
Jeroen
Posts: 982
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by Jeroen » Sun May 12, 2013 5:29 pm

The best part is that it should work on those cics that didn't work with the pin 4 mod. (recentlyish discovery)

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2269
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by 3gengames » Sun May 12, 2013 5:37 pm

Jeroen wrote:The best part is that it should work on those cics that didn't work with the pin 4 mod. (recentlyish discovery)
It's in code, yet I have yet to see proof of a SINGLE chip/console on which it fails, so I wouldn't post stuff like that like it's common...more like 1 in a million.

User avatar
mikejmoffitt
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by mikejmoffitt » Mon May 13, 2013 10:09 am

This seems much more elegant than cutting pin 4, not to mention it's completely reversible from what I can see.

User avatar
bootyhuntah
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 8:27 am
Location: USA

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by bootyhuntah » Mon May 13, 2013 1:55 pm

I just did the mod to a NTSC NES board and it works fine. No flashing reset without cartridge inside the console. :)

User avatar
Kreese
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 3:42 pm

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by Kreese » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:07 am

Does this mod make the NES play games from different regions? PAL games in NTSC consoles and vice versa...

tepples
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by tepples » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:15 am

PAL-only games won't play on an NTSC console if they actually use the extra vblank time, and they probably do. They'd have to be reprogrammed to turn rendering on late like Battletoads was.

Epicfatigue
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:06 am

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by Epicfatigue » Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:31 pm

i also have come across this mod, except they did it from the top.

However the unit was non functional it would just load with a grey screen and was not the 72pin connector i think a ppu died.

User avatar
Bregalad
Posts: 7766
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by Bregalad » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:01 am

How comes Hong Kong didn't recieve the "Asian" version ?

Did they get the UK version (PAL-A) because Hong-Kong was part of the UK back then ?

FrankWDoom
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:27 pm

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by FrankWDoom » Sun Sep 01, 2013 12:29 pm

Here's another one. This is from an american toaster modified by the Racermate that someone posted on NA. I copied the wiring just by look and it seems to work as intended on my machine. Can someone explain how this one works? It's nice to not have to pull the board out of the bottom shell to clip the chip leg.
Attachments
cic alternate mod
cic alternate mod

lidnariq
Posts: 8768
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by lidnariq » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:36 am

This does the same as the previous picture; it's just soldered to different locations of the same signals on the PCB.

User avatar
wyatt8740
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:03 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA (NTSC)

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by wyatt8740 » Sat Sep 21, 2013 6:26 pm

Dang. And just last week i accidentally ripped pin 4 off my CiC while disabling its chip.

Oh well. I guess I can harvest one from a game. This looks really cool!

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2269
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Is an Asian NES Region free? Strange CIC Mod

Post by 3gengames » Sat Sep 21, 2013 8:48 pm

wyatt8740 wrote:Dang. And just last week i accidentally ripped pin 4 off my CiC while disabling its chip.

Oh well. I guess I can harvest one from a game. This looks really cool!

Why would you go through the trouble? It defies logic to kill another CIC to do another mod that does the same thing.

Post Reply