It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:50 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 30
I burned a Megaman 5 ROM hack to two 39SF020 flash ROMs and wired them into a real cart. The instructions on the site didn't mention how to do this with TLROM carts, so I followed the directions for TSROM carts.
The result was a flash of scrambled tiles followed by a gray screen when I tried to start the game. Did I put the ROMs in wrong, or did I use the wrong flash chips?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7350
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
TLROM would have the same modifications as TSROM.
I put those here in case of you're interested, but it only works up to 128kb of either PRG and CHR.
Actually, figuring yourself the modification to do is rather simple. Just compare the pinout of both chips, and note wich signals have to be rewired.

_________________
Life is complex: it has both real and imaginary components.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:08 am
Posts: 260
some types of flash memory needs /WE connection to +5V or /OE
(especially in CHR ROM!)

- connect FLASH /WE (pin #31) to FLASH +5V (pin #32)
- or /WE (pin #31) to /OE (pin #24)

try both method if one not help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 30
That fixed it! Thanks!

While we're on the subject, is there any way to tell if a game uses a TLROM or TSROM board just by using an emulator?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19492
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
TSROM has PRG RAM at $6000-$7FFF, where TLROM has open bus. If an MMC3 game writes to RAM and expects to read the same value back, it's TSROM. If not, it's TLROM for manufacturing cost reasons. TKROM is identical to TSROM except it has a battery.

See KH's list of MMC3 boards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 30
So if I pull up the debugger and look at that range of RAM you mentioned, and the game just keeps it at 00 instead of twiddling it around like the rest of the RAM, then it's a safe bet that the game I'm running uses a TLROM board?


Last edited by Computolio on Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
If it keeps the RAM all at $00, it's a safe bet you're using an inaccurate emulator. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19492
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
blargg wrote:
If it keeps the RAM all at $00, it's a safe bet you're using an inaccurate emulator. :)

Or an inaccurate file format. The iNES header makes no distinction between TLROM and TSROM. There is an unofficial extension that uses bit 4 of byte 10 to distinguish TLROM from TSROM, but few emulators honor it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7350
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Emulating SRAM on a card that doesn't have any or emulating no bus conflicts on a card that have bus conflicts typically have no effect.
However, this is important for people developping games, while not really important for emulators.
As for SRAM, emulating 64kb for MMC5 games will work with all games with 32kb, 16kb and 8kb, so this is what most emulators does. It doesn't really matter in the emulator's point of view, but it does for the developper.

_________________
Life is complex: it has both real and imaginary components.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19492
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Bregalad wrote:
Emulating SRAM on a card that doesn't have any or emulating no bus conflicts on a card that have bus conflicts typically have no effect.

Low G Man is the exception that proves the rule. It depends on open bus in $6000-$7FFF.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group