Russian Roulette [Complete!]

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Memblers
Site Admin
Posts: 3770
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Indianapolis
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Short-term Project (hopefully)]

Post by Memblers » Sat Mar 26, 2016 5:00 pm

What format is the sound and music originally in?

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Short-term Project (hopefully)]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:11 pm

Famitracker

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:39 pm

Extensive progress has been made on this (thanks, Calima!), and now we need someone with a flashcart to test it on hardware.

The lightgun support in particular is ambiguous. At the title screen, shooting away from the screen should select the next option and shooting the screen should start the game (much like Nintendo's zapper titles worked). But I get different results on different emulators.

I appreciate your cooperation, everyone! :)
Attachments
RussianRoulette.nes
(184.03 KiB) Downloaded 402 times

User avatar
darryl.revok
Posts: 520
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 1:22 pm

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by darryl.revok » Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:59 pm

I'm guessing that most of the graphics aren't supposed to be garbled and unrecognizable?

If that's correct, then there is at least a conflict with an Everdrive N8 in a top-loader NES.

User avatar
NovaSquirrel
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:35 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by NovaSquirrel » Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:13 pm

Can confirm that the graphics are garbled on a PowerPak and frontloader too.

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7669
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by rainwarrior » Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:35 pm

The initialization code doesn't initialize the whole MMC3. Every register on the mapper should be presumed to have an unknown state on power-up, unless otherwise specified. Emulators don't tend to randomize these things on startup (for stability reasons it's often preferable to have a consistent startup state).

Banks 6, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 are initialized. ($8000/$8001 pairs)

Bank 5 (CHR $0C00-0FFF) is uninitialized.
Bank 7 (PRG $A000-BFFF) is uninitialized.

The other registers (mirroring, PRG RAM, IRQ at $A000/$C000/$E000) are all uninitialized.

calima
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Sun May 01, 2016 1:03 am

Thanks rainwarrior.

Bank 5 is set later on, when it's actually used, and bank 7 is not used at all, so I don't think it matters what it points to? Mirroring doesn't matter since we don't scroll.

Unless the mmc3 somehow doesn't acknowledge the last R6/R7 write, but rather expects all eight to match?

User avatar
thefox
Posts: 3141
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Tampere, Finland
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by thefox » Sun May 01, 2016 1:07 am

PowerPak/ED problems are probably caused by non-power-of-two CHR size.
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi

calima
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Sun May 01, 2016 1:13 am

Here's an updated version that sets the PRG RAM register, dummy switches for banks 5 and 7, and disables IRQ.
Attachments
RussianRoulette.nes
(184.03 KiB) Downloaded 366 times

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11465
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by tokumaru » Sun May 01, 2016 1:39 am

FCEUX tells me that there are 19 8KB CHR-ROM pages, which is really odd! Memory on the NES should always be in powers of 2, so you should try increasing that to 32 x 8KB, even if you don't have any actual graphics in these 13 pages.

calima
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Sun May 01, 2016 2:54 am

Updated with CHR padded to 256kb.
Attachments
RussianRoulette.nes.gz
(24.03 KiB) Downloaded 373 times

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Mon May 02, 2016 10:35 pm

Anybody else getting graphical glitches whenever the trigger is pulled in-game (on an NES)?

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7669
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by rainwarrior » Mon May 02, 2016 11:10 pm

Trying on a powerpak now. The initialization didn't change anything (I think you were right that it doesn't matter; though it doesn't hurt, I suppose). Padding CHR out to a power of 2 did help though. Seems to be running correctly.

I do not see any graphical glitches, Jedi.

I do wonder why the battery backed RAM bit is set. When I reset, the PowerPak wants to save RAM for me. Does this game really have a save?

calima
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Tue May 03, 2016 2:15 am

Yeah, the four high scores are saved. Of course you'd want to keep your mighty score til eternity ;)

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Tue May 03, 2016 6:19 am

rainwarrior wrote: I do not see any graphical glitches, Jedi.
Are you using a lightgun?

Post Reply