It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:53 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:31 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Austin, TX
psycopathicteen wrote:
Does this work with SA-1 games? I want to see if I can hack KSS and SMRPG to work without a SA-1 chip.


I mean, I don't work with those games, but as I do see an SA-1 tab in the debugger as well as adding breakpoints in the SA-1 bus, I'm going to take a wild guess that it likely works.

EDIT: With that said, I'm having a hard time believing you're going to be able to pull that off. Those chips add a bunch of processing horsepower to aid the underpowered CPU, hacking the support out of them would likely put way too much burden on the CPU. You're welcome to take a crack at it, though I'm quite skeptical of you being successful.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2760
Reaper_Man wrote:
psycopathicteen wrote:
Does this work with SA-1 games? I want to see if I can hack KSS and SMRPG to work without a SA-1 chip.


I mean, I don't work with those games, but as I do see an SA-1 tab in the debugger as well as adding breakpoints in the SA-1 bus, I'm going to take a wild guess that it likely works.

EDIT: With that said, I'm having a hard time believing you're going to be able to pull that off. Those chips add a bunch of processing horsepower to aid the underpowered CPU, hacking the support out of them would likely put way too much burden on the CPU. You're welcome to take a crack at it, though I'm quite skeptical of you being successful.


Sorry, but this is bullshit. I've already did so much work to disprove it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:49 am
Posts: 265
Location: Seattle
Best way to really disprove it is make a patch. Those of us with Everdrives would definitely appreciate it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:31 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Austin, TX
psycopathicteen wrote:
Reaper_Man wrote:
psycopathicteen wrote:
Does this work with SA-1 games? I want to see if I can hack KSS and SMRPG to work without a SA-1 chip.


I mean, I don't work with those games, but as I do see an SA-1 tab in the debugger as well as adding breakpoints in the SA-1 bus, I'm going to take a wild guess that it likely works.

EDIT: With that said, I'm having a hard time believing you're going to be able to pull that off. Those chips add a bunch of processing horsepower to aid the underpowered CPU, hacking the support out of them would likely put way too much burden on the CPU. You're welcome to take a crack at it, though I'm quite skeptical of you being successful.


Sorry, but this is bullshit. I've already did so much work to disprove it.



...wow. You sound rather insecure. Instead of addressing my skepticism with an abstract explanation on how you would pull it off, you instead dismiss it entirely by claiming that my skepticism is "bullshit," further adding that you've already done "so much work to disprove it," but not giving one iota proving said statement. Well done. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2760
Reaper_Man wrote:
psycopathicteen wrote:
Reaper_Man wrote:

I mean, I don't work with those games, but as I do see an SA-1 tab in the debugger as well as adding breakpoints in the SA-1 bus, I'm going to take a wild guess that it likely works.

EDIT: With that said, I'm having a hard time believing you're going to be able to pull that off. Those chips add a bunch of processing horsepower to aid the underpowered CPU, hacking the support out of them would likely put way too much burden on the CPU. You're welcome to take a crack at it, though I'm quite skeptical of you being successful.


Sorry, but this is bullshit. I've already did so much work to disprove it.



...wow. You sound rather insecure. Instead of addressing my skepticism with an abstract explanation on how you would pull it off, you instead dismiss it entirely by claiming that my skepticism is "bullshit," further adding that you've already done "so much work to disprove it," but not giving one iota proving said statement. Well done. :roll:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6niMlZzoUY

I've been working on this game for a long time. I'm just tired of having to come up with proof for everything I say.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 5:25 pm
Posts: 186
psycopathicteen wrote:
Sorry, but this is bullshit. I've already did so much work to disprove it.


Honestly, I think you are being immature. While I also disagree about the S-CPU being underpowered, I don't think this is the way to go about it showing it.

As has been touched on previously, there may be several reasons for a game to use the SA-1. It could just be that at the turn of the 5th gen, developers just wanted something more convenient so they could write the game in a higher level language. This doesn't necessarily mean that the S-CPU is incapable of running such games. I don't claim to know anything about how KSS or SMRPG work, but I would not be surprised if they used a lot of SA-1 specific stuff (or just had extensive inefficient machine-generated code) which would make it harder to just do a straight port to the S-CPU. I'm not saying it can't be done but in my eyes, the perceived effort would outweigh any benefits.

And when people are being jerks, don't be jerkier.

_________________
SNES NTSC 2/1/3 1CHIP | serial number UN318588627


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:31 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Austin, TX
psycopathicteen wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6niMlZzoUY

I've been working on this game for a long time. I'm just tired of having to come up with proof for everything I say.



That doesn't prove much. All this proves is that you allegedly made a SNES homebrew ROM, so you know how to ASM program in 65816 for the SNES.


Not a single second of that video comes close to proving how you will take all of the processing work that the SA1 has to do and dumping it on the 5A22.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2760
???

I'm just showing how fast a stock SNES can be, because you said the S-CPU is underpowered.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:31 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Austin, TX
psycopathicteen wrote:
???

I'm just showing how fast a stock SNES can be, because you said the S-CPU is underpowered.



I mean that's fine and all, but it is, for all intents and purposes, underpowered, especially compared to the SA1.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2760
Reaper_Man wrote:
psycopathicteen wrote:
???

I'm just showing how fast a stock SNES can be, because you said the S-CPU is underpowered.



I mean that's fine and all, but it is, for all intents and purposes, underpowered, especially compared to the SA1.


I was pissed off because I've already talked about this a lot in other threads.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20661
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
psycopathicteen wrote:
CPU speed doesn't mean SHIT.

Is this true even of things like Faceball 2000 for Game Boy? Its frame rate on an effectively 1.05 MHz CPU isn't great, nor is its draw distance (video).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2760
If you're just moving sprites around, CPU speed doesn't matter much.

...and I already censored the post that you quoted.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:28 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Seattle, WA
@Benny, this debugger is great! You have issues disabled on github - where would you like feedback directed? In posts here? I'm using this to do some homebrew development and the source view is already my favorite!

Some suggested features that would really round things out and replace (my) need for other debuggers:
* Debug printing from game code; preferably compatible with no$sns' register 21FC (write 1 char of output to the debug window) - this is a bit easier to scale than the symbol print stuff (though that can be useful for other things!)
* Symbol table in the main UI instead of a popup to make it easier to navigate (and less difficult to lose the popup behind other windows)
* Clicking on symbols jumps to disasm location for code, memory editor for data
* Hotkey to reload cart
* Dreaming: option to watch for cart file changes and reload automatically

Keep up the awesome work!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 5:25 pm
Posts: 186
benvanik wrote:
* Hotkey to reload cart

Bsnes-plus has this, though you may need to bind the key yourself. I use it all the time.

_________________
SNES NTSC 2/1/3 1CHIP | serial number UN318588627


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:28 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Seattle, WA
oh... (-‸ლ)
thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nicklausw and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group