It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:14 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1334
The screenshots look great this way. Looks quite good in the example picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
As with most of my other projects, you'll need to have Python 3 and Pillow (Python Imaging Library) installed, per the standard instructions to set up a build environment for Pin Eight projects.

The input image must be 64x56 pixels, in BMP, PNG, or any other format that Pillow reads. It must follow the engine's limits (grays + 3 colors in each 8x8 pixel area, two distinct groups of 3 colors).

The main() function in a53screenshot.py is hardcoded for testing purposes so that I can test from within IDLE, the editor that comes with Python. You'll need to comment that at the bottom of the file and uncomment plain main().
Code:
# Convert by guessing the 3-color palettes, then display
./a53screenshot.py thwaite.png

# Convert by guessing the 3-color palettes, then save conversion
./a53screenshot.py thwaite.png -o thwaite-indexed.png

# Convert using the given palettes, then display
./a53screenshot.py --palette 12162A122738 thwaite.png

# Convert using the given palettes, then save conversion
./a53screenshot.py --palette 12162A122738 thwaite.png -o thwaite-indexed.png

# Save a PNG image showing the NES palette that savtool uses
./savtool.py --write-swatches=bisqwit_nes_palette.png

REM Windows Command Prompt may require backslashes or removal of the
REM leading ./ entirely.  I haven't tested this on Windows.  Let me
REM know which of these work for you.
.\a53screenshot.py thwaite.png
a53screenshot.py thwaite.png
py a53screenshot.py thwaite.png
python a53screenshot.py thwaite.png


EDIT: Fixed documentation


Attachments:
a53screenshot.zip [21.97 KiB]
Downloaded 152 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11018
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Now that screenshots can be more colorful, wouldn't this be a good time to improve the graphics of the television set itself? Maybe something like this:

Attachment:
a53-television.png
a53-television.png [ 2.33 KiB | Viewed 4394 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 4:20 am 
Online

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 857
Code:
./a53screenshot.py inherent.png
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./a53screenshot.py", line 385, in <module>
    main(["a53screenshot.py", "-v", "../tilesets/screenshots/thwaite.png"])
  File "./a53screenshot.py", line 360, in main
    im = Image.open(infilename)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/PIL/Image.py", line 2258, in open
    fp = builtins.open(filename, "rb")
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '../tilesets/screenshots/thwaite.png'


Hardcoded inputs overriding what I passed?

edit: When I comment the hardcode line and uncomment the main() line, it goes further, but the inputs do not match your README, they expect -o instead of two filenames.

edit2: The new image did not use the new palettes for some reason, even though the run was successful:
Code:
./a53screenshot.py inherent.png -o new.png
palette: 03 17 27, 08 17 27

And the preview did not change any colors either.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
calima wrote:
Hardcoded inputs overriding what I passed?

Yup. Sometimes I hardcode argv so that I can test from within an environment that doesn't offer a way to specify argv. You caught me with the -o there as well: I changed the API and forgot to change the manual. Thank you for helping to test.

calima wrote:
The new image did not use the new palettes for some reason, even though the run was successful:
Code:
./a53screenshot.py inherent.png -o new.png
palette: 03 17 27, 08 17 27

Try changing parse_palette(s) to parse_palette(args.palette). If that doesn't work, could you attach inherent.png for me to test with?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:39 am 
Online

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 857
Code:
  File "./a53screenshot.py", line 173
    def parse_palette(args.palette):
                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax


Image attached. Please use this one as Inherent's screenshot, it should pass all restrictions (though the colors the tool picked may be bad, there's no purple 03 anywhere, and 18/28 may be closer to the yellows than 17 and 27)


Attachments:
inherent.png
inherent.png [ 589 Bytes | Viewed 4325 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
My camera sucks, as do the room lighting and the TV's color temperature settings. But this photo at least shows more colorful screenshots on hardware.
Attachment:
File comment: A familiar game with houses and explosions using different palettes
thwaite_19C140.jpg
thwaite_19C140.jpg [ 47.56 KiB | Viewed 4300 times ]


@calima
I meant in the function's use, not its definition.

But anyway, I found a bunch of other dumb typos, and I have attached a revised version with them fixed. Thank you for the test materials.
Attachment:
File comment: A bunch of fixes to the command-line front end
a53screenshot.zip [22.08 KiB]
Downloaded 150 times

Attachment:
File comment: You mean this isn't about long-eared leporids?
inherent_19C140.jpg
inherent_19C140.jpg [ 47.51 KiB | Viewed 4300 times ]


As for the purple, the conversion uses a palette generated using Bisqwit's tool. In the revised version of a53screenshot, I've added functionality to savtool.py --write-swatches where .pal writes a 192-byte binary palette for use with an emulator, and .txt writes a 64-line tab-separated file with 6-digit hex codes (e.g. #342800 for color $08).

@tokumaru
That'd certainly be doable with my current framework.
The screenshot frame in the current version of Action 53 was based on a TV belonging to NovaSquirrel, made by Sharp. That was the TV that I had in front of me while making the menu software. Pictures of model 19C140 found through Google Images appear to match it.
Attachment:
File comment: Yo dawg, I put a Sharp TV in your Sharp TV so you can game while you game
droste_19C140.jpg
droste_19C140.jpg [ 52.04 KiB | Viewed 4300 times ]


I could have modeled it after a more iconic bezel if I knew of one. What TV model is tokumaru's suggested frame based on?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11018
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
tepples wrote:
I could have modeled it after a more iconic bezel if I knew of one. What TV model is tokumaru's suggested frame based on?

I took bits and pieces from different TVs, but the biggest inspiration was this one (apparently a Sony Trinitron KV-20TR23):
Attachment:
sony-trinitron.jpg
sony-trinitron.jpg [ 82.1 KiB | Viewed 4288 times ]

I don't think this is about using an iconic model though, I just think it has to be believable. The current one looks a bit too boxy, and the light color blends with the background too much (the Windows 95 style shading doesn't help here). I figured that a dark/black television would stand out more, and would have better contrast overall.

If you provide a reference image of any other model you think would work better, I can take a shot at pixeling it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Looking good, and you're credited in CHANGES.txt of the menu source code.


Attachments:
a53menu-0.06wip1.zip [195.39 KiB]
Downloaded 157 times
a53vol4-0.png
a53vol4-0.png [ 1.81 KiB | Viewed 4278 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11018
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Cool! I'm glad you liked it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1334
The old bezel looked fine, but the new one has some nice character to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:32 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1786
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
yeah well done tokumaru!

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
In the volume 3 topic, infiniteneslives wrote:
Only other detail to cover for the rom's release then is special messages on the title screen. Is there a feature to do this as we have in past years with contributor carts and number of LE copies? I guess we'll survive without it, but if the feature is already built in and ready to use, what's the hex offset and limits for the message?

I added a new feature to the builder to let me reserve space in the ROM for notices on the title screen, specifying their position and color. Previously they had been hardcoded in the RODATA of the menu program. The new arrangement should let me build multiple collections from the same menu program even if they have different title screen layouts, particularly volumes 3 and 4.


Attachments:
a53menu-0.06wip2.zip [202.5 KiB]
Downloaded 163 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:24 am
Posts: 371
Now that you've added button icons, how would you feel about one for the d-pad as well?


Attachments:
a53dpad2.png
a53dpad2.png [ 656 Bytes | Viewed 3724 times ]
a53dpad.png
a53dpad.png [ 2.21 KiB | Viewed 3724 times ]

_________________
www.mteegfx.com
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I've uploaded the ROM builder's source code to Microsoft GitHub so that JRoatch can make pull requests in the course of building the master ROM.

pinobatch/action53

Could the design of these overlapping tab tiles be improved? (top: current; bottom: proposed)


Attachments:
a53_overlapping_tabs.png
a53_overlapping_tabs.png [ 402 Bytes | Viewed 2527 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group