how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

How to add a mapper to nes emulator?
Help me Please
User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3262
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Zepper »

[not worth after the OP reply]
Last edited by Zepper on Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Quietust
Posts: 1920
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Quietust »

You need to be more specific - "adding a mapper to an NES emulator" can involve many different steps:

Do you fully understand how the mapper in question works? You'll need to know what memory regions it listens to (e.g. a single register at $8000-$FFFF for UNROM, 4 serial registers at $8000-$9FFF / $A000-$BFFF / $C000-$DFFF / $E000-$FFFF for MMC1) and what's supposed to happen when the game writes to those addresses (PRG/CHR mapping, nametable mirroring, IRQ timers, sound channels, or even more exotic things), as well as any special cases on how those registers interact (e.g. you could have two different addresses that affect the same internal register in different ways).

Are you adding it to your own emulator, or are you adding it to somebody else's emulator? If it's somebody else's emulator, you need to figure out how that emulator's author chose to implement mappers and then write your new code in the same fashion, otherwise it's probably not going to work. If it's your own emulator, then you should hopefully already understand how its mapper subsystem works.

Does the emulator's mapper subsystem actually support whatever special things the new mapper needs to do? A simple emulator supporting mappers 0, 1, 2, 3, and 7 might only support 16KB PRG banks + 8KB CHR banks + mirroring controls, but if you wanted to support mapper 4 you'd need to add support for 8KB PRG banks, 1KB CHR banks, and a scanline counter for IRQs.
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.
Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

Thank you for your answer
This is an emulator for PS3
Mednafen vunofficial by Robo Hobo
https://store.brewology.com/homebrew.ph ... s&orderby=
Is it possible to add mappers to this emulator? And what kind of file? Thank you very much.

Or would you add some mappers to me? To this emulator? I would write to you what I want to add.


I would give you the games I need to add to the opening
Thank you

I would be very eternal for you
User avatar
Quietust
Posts: 1920
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Quietust »

We cannot help you modify somebody else's emulator - you'll have to either contact its author for more information or figure it out for yourself.
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.
Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

There is a chance??? :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
or SDK PS3? Can you work with this program?
User avatar
Quietust
Posts: 1920
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Quietust »

Deviljin88 wrote:There is a chance??? :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
or SDK PS3? Can you work with this program?
Did you not read my post? I said we can NOT help you modify somebody else's emulator, and that you're going to have to either ask the emulator's author (whoever that happens to be) or figure things out for yourself.

Outright begging for help won't work here - I've already seen the topic you posted in the other forum (and the negative response you've gotten there), and while I do appreciate that you're posting in the correct forum this time, you've still got the wrong attitude for what you're trying to accomplish.
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.
Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

I understand, can not contact the author, it is a pity that ps3 is neglected :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Fisher »

Does PS3 runs PS2 executables?
The source code for a PS2 NES emulator is available here.
Altough I have no clue on how new mappers can be added, this should be easier to do so with the source code.
Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

Fisher
Thank you very much
I'll try it
pity that nobody in the world can add mappers for ps3 not emulator
:cry: :cry: :cry:
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Fisher »

It's not that nobody can, I think nobody is interested on it right now.
Ccovell once did this image that I think fits your situation:
Image
Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

Thank you
You Are So kind
I'm probably the only one in the world that I would like to add the mapper to the ps3 of the emulator :-(
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Fisher »

So you can try to learn how to program homebrew on PS3 and do it.
That image is a little about motivation, there's an old tought that says more or less this:
"Many can but don't want, others want but can't. Be the one that can and want!"

Hope this helps you to at least try to learn what you need.
Good luck and have fun!
Deviljin88
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by Deviljin88 »

yes you are right but i do not know how. I can not program
Not open elf ps3 cfw :-(
I do not speak English
nobody cares
:-(((
lidnariq
Posts: 11432
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Re: how to add a mapper to nes emulator?

Post by lidnariq »

Deviljin88 wrote:I'm probably the only one in the world that I would like to add the mapper to the ps3 of the emulator :-(
It is specifically the PS3 that is causing people here to decide it's not worth their while.
Locked