It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:15 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 11:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 484
Location: Iran
Does anyone have any information about NES or Famicom controller?
Is there any schematic for that?

I found this but it doesn't support turbo buttons :

Image

I need something which support turbo buttons.


Last edited by FARID on Thu May 19, 2011 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 12:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20681
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
So you want to patch turbo into the JOY1 schematic shown above. Do you want NES Max-style turbo with different buttons? Or do you want NES Advantage/TG16/SN ProPad style turbo with an on/off switch for each button's turbo feature? Either way, you'll need an oscillator set somewhere between 15 and 30 Hz to generate a signal used to modulate the output of the A, B, and Start switches before they hit the 4021 shift register.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 12:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 484
Location: Iran
I have a Micro Genius controller :

Image

Inside it there is an IC :

UM6582
0229

It is DIP14.

I want to make one, like that.

What is the full name of 4021? Is it the same as UM6582?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 3:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3569
Location: Indianapolis
I found a schematic someone made of the NES Advantage controller.
http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=42458
Image

The turbo on the Advantage was pretty nice, because the speed was adjustable. The potentiometer could be replaced with a normal resistor for a fixed speed.

For a separate turbo button, you could use the "A" and "turbo A" buttons as inputs to an AND gate (4073, 4081, 74HC08, etc.), then the output goes your 4021 to be the A button.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 9:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 484
Location: Iran
This is my own Miro Genius Controller. This controller supports turbo buttons :

Image

Image

Image

Image





What do you think about this schematic. I have not tested it yet :

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 12:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 504
Location: Indianapolis
Memblers wrote:
I found a schematic someone made of the NES Advantage controller.
http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=42458





I don't think that schematic is right. One of the inverters appears to be drawn backwards.

This is the typical connection for this style of oscillator:

http://www.aaroncake.net/forum/uploaded ... llator.PNG

Also, that 120uf capacitor seems awfully high to me. I'm guessing 1uf might be more correct, or possibly 10uf at the outside.

If you don't want to have a turbo on/off switch, and would like a "normal" and "turbo" button (like on that controller) this is possible too by using an NPN transistor across the regular "A" (or B) button, with emitter grounded, and the base connected thru a 10K resistor to the oscillator via the turbo button.

As an aside, that chip in that microgenius controller is an ASIC and is not a standard part. It probably has an oscillator of some form built in, or else it just has a 2 bit or so binary counter on the load line so that it can toggle the button state every 2 or 4 or even 8 frames. That'd negate the need for an oscillator all together.

_________________
/* this is a comment */


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 12:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 943
I always thought turbo controllers used a set / reset flip-flop. That could work, but you would be forced to use a 2 frame cycle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20681
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
qbradq wrote:
I always thought turbo controllers used a set / reset flip-flop. That could work, but you would be forced to use a 2 frame cycle.

You mean toggle them every strobe? That'd just make games freeze if they use a controller read loop that waits for the buttons to settle. A lot of games using DPCM do this to work around a bug in the NES's DMA controller.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 4:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 484
Location: Iran
Don't you think making a SNES controller and cutting the extra stuff to use with NES is much more simpler than your proposal?

Image


Or even making one of these :

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 5:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 943
tepples wrote:
qbradq wrote:
I always thought turbo controllers used a set / reset flip-flop. That could work, but you would be forced to use a 2 frame cycle.

You mean toggle them every strobe? That'd just make games freeze if they use a controller read loop that waits for the buttons to settle. A lot of games using DPCM do this to work around a bug in the NES's DMA controller.


Good point.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 8:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 660
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
Simple pulse generator, very suitable for generating turbo signal for the turbo buttons :
Image

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 12:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 484
Location: Iran
Can you draw a complete schematic on the paper? Then I can design it in Proteus. I will give you full credit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 660
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
A bit messy, but have fun :
Image

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 2:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3569
Location: Indianapolis
Seems like if you pressed B normal and B turbo at the same time (not that you'd want to, but it would be easy to accidentally), the output at pin 8 (on the '00) would be shorted to ground. That's sorta why I was thinking it should go through an AND gate, or alternatively like kevtris said, a transistor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 12:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 660
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
Add 100ohm chip in series with the turbo signal output and no harm will come (assuming HC or AC00 is used) :P

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group