Sound Emulation

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Cloudy

Sound Emulation

Post by Cloudy » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:54 am

Hi guys,

I am writing an emulator for learning purposes and have completed it with the exception of sound emulation. I am not writing a NES emulator yet but the console I am emulating sound is very very similar so im hoping you guys can give me a hand.

I have no knowledge of how sound emulation is intended to work and no knowledge of sound programming in general which is why im finding this very difficult. It is not so much the technical side Im having trouble with but how the compontents work together to produce sound.

Anyway I am going to emulate the two square waves first but need help understanding the logic behind how these work. This is my understanding, if you could fill in the blanks or correct any mistakes I have (there will be plenty) then that'd be great.

1. The programmerable timer is an 11 bit down counter which combines two sound registers together to get its value. This counts down at a set frequency which I update after every opcode emulation by the amount of cycles that opcode takes. When this reaches 0 then it reloads itself by combining the two registers again. Everything ok up to this point? Im also unsure what happens if the two sound registers which create the programmable timer are written to before the current timer has reached 0, does it start the count down process again or does it only change when the timer reaches 0 and reloads?