Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
mkwong98
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 »

Hi, I recently resumed working on my emulator and now I think I have enough to show. The gimmick of the emulator is the ability to display custom true colour tiles at up to 4x resolution.

Link:
See the attachment of the third message

BombSweeper is used as an example and a simple 2x graphics pack is included in the files which replace the number tiles. You need to download and put BombSweeper.nes inside the rom folder. You can play around with the png files inside the BombSweeper folder and see the results. The emulator is still in early stage and so lacks many standard features. Please read the readme for the limitations before using it. Feel free to comment and please let me know if you have trouble running the emulator on your machine.

Thanks.
Last edited by mkwong98 on Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ulfalizer
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:55 pm
Location: Linköping, Sweden

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by ulfalizer »

Heh... I have almost the exact same idea for my emulator. Looks like you beat me to it. :)

The download link seems broken though.
User avatar
thefox
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Location: 🇫🇮
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by thefox »

Please use the attachment feature of the forum.
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi
mkwong98
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 »

A demo with SMB
http://youtu.be/N57ApspYHVE

A quick run of Kung Fu
http://youtu.be/yySSNxkQ4Q8

The intro of Dragonball Z
http://youtu.be/uC73qM8YPPE

The intro of Dragonball Z II
http://youtu.be/ju-9yREPnn8

The first few stages of Nuts & Milk
http://youtu.be/gwORJNKOoqk

GitHub
https://github.com/mkwong98/HDNes

Here are the files. (Updated 24-2-2015)
Attachments
hdnes.7z
(1.95 MiB) Downloaded 3889 times
hdnes.pdf
(1.03 MiB) Downloaded 2639 times
201402151936223859.png
Last edited by mkwong98 on Tue Mar 03, 2015 4:53 am, edited 43 times in total.
tepples
Posts: 22705
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by tepples »

Result:

Code: Select all

pino@pino-laptop:~/Desktop/hdnes$ wine hdnes.exe
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation (nil) 1 (nil) 0
fixme:keyboard:X11DRV_LoadKeyboardLayout L"00000409", 0080: stub!
fixme:keyboard:X11DRV_LoadKeyboardLayout L"00000409", 0001: stub!
fixme:wgl:X11DRV_wglChoosePixelFormatARB unused pfAttribFList
wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000000 at address (nil) (thread 0009), starting debugger...
A backtrace was produced; I'm attaching it.
Attachments
backtrace.txt
Backtrace when I ran this in Wine on my laptop
(7.3 KiB) Downloaded 1761 times
3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2284
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by 3gengames »

I tried to load 2 ROMS, only showed the background color. Didn't let me assign keys. None of the tabs had any info. Size change didn't change window size at all for some reason. And no Y where there's an X in the screen change thingy...so I don't think I can provide any info on the emulation it's self as...yeah, it didn't work here. Win7 Home Prem., AMD Turion 2.5Ghz dual core, 4GB RAM, HD4250 Mobile GPU.
WedNESday
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by WedNESday »

It works ok for me until I tried to close the program and not even windows task manager itself could do the job...
mkwong98
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 »

Thank you for your feedbacks.
I forgot to say in the readme that pressing the esc key to close the game window.
User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4922
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Dwedit »

I'm getting a null pointer exception when I run the program. It's jumping to address 00000000 at some point.
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!
mkwong98
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 »

I'm using VC++ 2010 Express. Maybe need to install the redistributable package?
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... px?id=5555
User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4922
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Dwedit »

It runs through the GUI, then when you start the game, the emulator window appears, but it crashes before any frames are rendered.
Using Windows XP. I'm sure it's not an issue with the redistributable, otherwise it wouldn't start at all.
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!
tepples
Posts: 22705
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by tepples »

Dwedit wrote:when you start the game, the emulator window appears, but it crashes before any frames are rendered.
Using Windows XP.
That's the same misbehavior I saw on Wine.
mkwong98
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 »

Looks like something failed to initialize and return 0 and I didn't check it.

What OpenGL version can your machine support?
tepples
Posts: 22705
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by tepples »

mkwong98 wrote:What OpenGL version can your machine support?
I don't know. It's a Dell Inspiron mini 1012. What command should one use to determine the supported OpenGL version?
mkwong98
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 »

Try GPU Caps Viewer
http://www.ozone3d.net/gpu_caps_viewer/

What screen resolution are you using? Maybe the program is asking for a surface larger than available size. It is using 1024*720.
Post Reply